Jason's Literary Salon

Home » Uncategorized » Five Patisseries You Need to Visit in Paris

Five Patisseries You Need to Visit in Paris

This past April, I spent a week in my beloved Paris. I first came to the city years ago when I was doing research for my PhD and I fell instantly in love with the place. One of the things that I fell in love with was of course the food, and in particular, the pastries.

This of course is not hardly surprising: after all, who doesn’t love French pasties? I will eat obscene amounts of lemon tarts, Paris-Brests, and mille feuilles, but my favourite are eclairs. No matter how long I am in the city, I eat at least one a day and it is not out of the realm of possibility for me to eat several in a day and with boulangeries/patisseries on almost every corner of Paris, I never suffer from a lack of options.

This time, although I only took a quick vacation, I decided that I would actually start trying to systematically rate the different boulangeries/paterisseries I visited. One day, I would love to be able to visit every shop in Paris – but hat a another ambition for another time. But I was able to visit a few anyway. It was easy enough since there were three within walking distance from where I was staying the in 18th, just off the metro station Macardet-Poissoniers. So what follows is a very, and I mean very short list of some of the very good boulangeries/patisseries that I recommend you visit should you find yourself in Paris. Or, explore the city and find your own favourite patisserie. You can’t miss them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
On the corner of Rue Ordener and Rue de Clignancourt, this boulangerie has a very modern feel. It offers a selection of extremely good eclairs. The selection is limited to the traditional chocolate and café, but the quality is unquestionable. At 2€, they are less expensive than many places which average around 2.40€, but the price has no bearing on their quality. I highly recommend this place. And the baguettes are manna from heaven.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On Rue St Honoré just as you come up to the Tuilleries from the direction of the Louvre is this boulangerie/patisserie. Not quite and eclaire but similar enough, they sold a fantastic violet religieuse for about 2.40€ and it was one of the best I’ve ever had. Somtimes floral flavours can be too light, but not this one. It was excellent and the flavour was exquisite.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
One of my favourite boulangerie/patisseries is Gosselin on Rue St Honoré as you are heading towards Châtelet. I first came across this place in 2013 and they sell a wide range of flavours, including many floral types – notably rose and lavender. They are fantastic and I always now make a point of going there no matter where I am staying in the city. They have a website: http://www.patisseriegosselin.com. They are definitely worth the visit. They are closed on weekends.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This boulangerie is found on the corner of Rue Simart and Eugène Sue. It won best patisserie on the Île de France in 2014, and based on my experience, it is a well earned victory. They have a raspberry eclaire that is an absolute standout. At 2.40€, these eclaires are really worth every euro cent. They are closed on Wednesdays.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 684 hits
